Yona of the Dawn 20 – OH I KNOW EXACTLY WHY I’VE GOT THIS BONER

Akatsuki%2520no%2520Yona%2520-%252020%2520-44%255B2%255D

Yona of the Dawn didn’t strike me as a particularly perverted series despite containing the most complicated boner metaphors (or at least I think they’re boner metaphors) imaginable, but this was not the kind of series I expected to have boner material.

Well, at least not boner material for men.
Well, at least not boner material for men.

But ahem, I’m getting ahead of myself. Let’s discuss plot first, then we discuss boners.

Despite Yona being a great character and all whom I regularly glee over, it’s kind of surprising how supporting characters can completely and absolutely steal the episode without really trying. Last episode, a certain squirrel managed to claim the title of best haremite (by the way, Ao’s antics are anime original. Kudos to Pierrot), and today it’s a certain genius bishonen who manages to capture most of my attention (and boners).

Not to be outdone by a squirrel, Yun decides to bring some weaponry of his own with Blackadder-grade snark. So, he, after cooking an amazing stew, a pirate hits on him. Yun’s response is fucking perfect.

akatsuki-no-yona-episode-20-marrying-yunAkatsuki%2520no%2520Yona%2520-%252020%2520-15%255B2%255D

vlcsnap-2015-02-16-18h41m28s157

Yeah it’s childish but still it made me laugh for two minutes straight.

And considering what I know about pirates, it’s probably for the best Yun isn’t staying for long with the pirates. I mean, he kind of really looks like a lady, and the only woman is Gigan herself who is kind of old and I’m pretty sure the pirates would get lonely.

But I digress. Or maybe not, this may factor sometime later.

Akatsuki+no+Yona+-+20+-4

Anyway, Jeaha takes Yona on a recon mission to investigate where Kumji keeps his kidnapping victims where there’s some sweet interactions between Yona and Jeaha, which netter me the above shot of Yona being cute. But most importantly…

We also get to finally see Yan Kumji’s face!Akatsuki+no+Yona+-+20+-6

Hm… it’s missing something…kumji menacing

Ah, there you go.

The villagers are none too pleased with Kumji’s presence, so they take the Antoine Dodson approach to his presence and all activity stops. Those women unable to hide are condemned to wear horrid moustaches.
But horrid mustache lady turns out to be a valuable source of information. It turns out that he’s using a storefront as a front (I need a thesaurus) and more or less uses job listings as bait. So, I guess I’ll put off applying for those classified ads.

Back at the ship, the big battle is coming sometime soon, and Gigan is going to use the harem’s strength to strike Kumji’s fleet. However, there’s the caveat of not knowing which ship is the one holding all the slaves hostage. So, Yona comes up with an extremely daring plan: she gets kidnapped and sets off fireworks inside the ship. Using Sinha’s (I think that was this week’s romanization) Carl Zeiss Master Prime Lenses Dragon Vision of Doom, they can detect which ship holds the slaves.

Joseph Joestar would be proud.

Gigan is less than thrilled with the idea of sending Yona off by herself, despite thinking that the plan’s wicked smaht. So, someone has to go with her. Unfortunately, the ship is filled only with smelly old men and Gigan. But who can pass as a woman?

any20.22

Ah, so our resident genius bishonen is into crossdressing. Well, that’s a surprise.

Akatsuki%2520no%2520Yona%2520-%252020%2520-39%255B2%255D

And so is Ao.

Akatsuki%2520no%2520Yona%2520-%252020%2520-36%255B2%255D

Let’s just say that Yun makes for a very convincing girl. I have no idea what he did before he met Il-sook (thank goodness that was before the romanization roulette) that he had to learn how to effectively crossdress and expertly slip into seductress mode without flinching. Really, what the hell was he doing? Is life in the Kouka kingdom that miserable?

Off that topic. I really like the friendship between Yun and Yona. There’s a certain je ne sais quoi to their dynamics that just strikes the right chord. They just are so chill together despite their different upbringings and social backgrounds. Unlike the Dragons, he isn’t bound by destiny placed upon him, or the memory of the King. He’s more-or-less in equal footing with Yona. He’s there simply because he wants to be, to grow, just like her journey.

Now, back to that topic. I just thought about what kind of wretched acts Yun had to do before he met Il-sook. And now I’m sad.

