April 2015 Roundup

vlcsnap-2015-05-01-11h22m21s823

After the disappointment of last season, we finally get some new shows. Will it break the terrible curse that Winter put upon 2015 in anime? Will it be as good as last Fall? Will Wit Studio do a quality product once again? Will there be more quality fujoshi bait? Will people who eat pizza with ranch please stop doing that shit?

Hot


JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure: Stardust Crusaders 「Battle in Egypt」

vlcsnap-2015-04-24-08h35m39s266
Where does Jotaro’s hair ends and where does the hat start? That is life’s ultimate question.

As I said in my previous post, there is definitely a point where JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure: Stardust Crusaders gets much, much better. They have now reached that point, and believe me when I say that it only gets better from here. Plus, the nutcases at David Pro can be more than trusted with elevating the source material to the point it’s worth watching everything again through their eyes.

The Heroic Legend of Arslan

vlcsnap-2015-04-25-13h36m04s763

The Legend of the Galactic Heroic Legend of Arslan has a slow-paced beginning. Like Yona last fall, it has strong enough characterization and world-building that it’s still pretty damn good with the slow pacing. There are some cheesy elements to it, like the flowery elaborate fantasy dialogue, although I think it works more in its favour than against it.

Plastic Memories

vlcsnap-2015-04-25-13h43m13s105

Plastic Memories’ wild tone shifts may not everyone’s cup of tea. The comedy is pretty good, sure, but that’s not the show’s main strength. It’s the tragic moments at the end of each episode that makes it all worth it, because holy shit they bring the feels at full force.  Even if they feel a bit forced, they work very well.

Blood Blockade Battlefront

vlcsnap-2015-04-25-14h02m09s927

This werewolf and his mutton chops are wearing glasses and a suit. Later on, he creates a gigantic fuck-you cross and impales someone on it. Your argument is invalid.

Japanese Marriage Propaganda S2: Sex Intensifies

vlcsnap-2015-04-25-13h59m34s462
What’cha lookin’ at?

BREED! BREED FOR GLORIOUS NIPPON (it’s also quite funny so there’s that).

Punchline

vlcsnap-2015-04-25-14h16m54s266

Yeah, this. I can’t quite put my finger on why I like this series so much, despite the fact that I have nothing positive to say about it. Maybe it’s because there are some moments of subtle character depth, or maybe it’s because I just like the style and energy of the whole thing. Oh wait, I just said something positive about it! There you go.

RIN-NE

vlcsnap-2015-04-25-14h38m47s539

RIN-NE is Rumiko Takahashi in her safe zone, retreading several character archetypes she helped pioneer in her heyday and it also feels very 90s as a result. Not that that’s a bad thing, mind you; she still has a knack for pretty good comedy, and I guess I’ll keep watching this as long as the jokes keep working.

Knights of Sidonia

I think it’s pretty good? I haven’t watched it yet, but I guess I’ll wait until Netflix streams it so I can watch it with Johnny Yong Bosch’s voice in it.

Not so hot


Seraph of the End

vlcsnap-2015-04-25-15h33m30s925

Seraph of the End‘s shittyness confuses and enrages me. It has a pretty good premise and art-style, and some of the characters are interesting. However, it has a… well, not a slow beginning, because there’s slow beginnings and then there’s this. The last episodes have been nothing but boring exposition and bland characterization, coupled with hackneyed attempts to shock and terrible humor.

Gunslinger Stratos

vlcsnap-2015-05-01-11h26m27s626
A1 quality there.

I was going to be much more elaborate about why Gunslinger Stratos’s excellent setting and premise are wasted and why I hate its bland characters and why I generally feel let down by this show, but I just want to say that I was eventually so bored that fell sleep in the middle of episode 3.

That is all.

Sound! Euphonium

Euphonium-2-Img025

KyoAni in their safezone of moe. Bleh.

Shokugeki no Soma

Shokugeki%2520no%2520Souma%2520-%252004%2520-16%255B2%255D

I can’t say much about Soma, except that it’s typical competition shonen, except that it’s about cooking! And with orgamiscal over-reactions to food! Yeah, the latter just makes me feel slightly uncomfortable. I’m not doing this.

DanMachi

vlcsnap-2015-04-25-15h46m40s045

Remember what I said about the pacing back in my first impression? It still applies. Its rushed pacing still ruins the show. Too little and too much happens in a given episode, and I still don’t care about the characters. And I get the feeling that even if they had decent pacing, the characters would be still bland and the overall plot would still be thin to nonexistent.

Ultimate Otaku Teacher

vlcsnap-2015-04-25-15h51m16s272
Quality A1 animation included.

It’s like Great Teacher Onizuka, except it’s shit.

WORSE THAN COSPRAYERS


 Le Eden de la Grisaia

vlcsnap-2015-04-25-13h42m09s704
Yep, they did the aspect ratio thing here.

This is Yuuji’s dog. You have three guesses and no prize to guess its fate. That’s Grisaia for ya.

Triag- TITTIES

vlcsnap-2015-04-28-10h34m48s286
TITTIES

TITTIES

