July 2015 Roundup

vlcsnap-2015-08-08-11h54m34s322
First, sorry for the extreme delay in recent posts. I’m quite… ah… busy with real life stuff that I thought would be sorted out way earlier but it turns out that you do have to be through in sorting shit out if you don’t want it to come back to bite you in the ass.

Second, I’ll make some changes to the format of both monthly and season roundups. For monthly roundups, I’ll only be including three shows per section, to make this much more bearable.

Hot


Gatchaman Crowds insight

vlcsnap-2015-08-13-20h57m11s153

I’m not going to pretend that I actually think that Gatchaman Crowds ever had a plot that wasn’t all over the goddamn place or themes more hamfisted and messy than a layered bologna cake frosted with mayo [SFW, but…], because I’m not stupid, I just have terrible taste in anime. But it still delivers what made me love the first season, and that is excellent character writing. I quite like the two new characters introduced to the show, Tsubasa and Gerurururururu already, and it seems that the writer is trying to make the themes a bit more… well, I know what Toshiya Ono’s going for, and it’s nice that he’s building on the… whatever he did in season 1. Hopefully, it can only go upwards from here. I think. I hope.

Red-haired Snow White

vlcsnap-2015-08-13-21h15m53s118

To say that I’m particularly biased towards this series because I’m a major fan of fantasy shoujo would be an understatement, so feel free to take this entry here with an entire salt mine’s worth of salt.

Compared to Yona, the other show starring some this one is pretty chill. It stands out with its fun characters, like Yona, and quite impressive worldbuilding (quite a feat considering that it’s mostly a character-based comedy). Like other fantasy shoujo aired before, it’s not necessarily memorable, but it’s a pretty good allocation of my time.

My Monster Secret

vlcsnap-2015-08-13-20h59m04s045

Overall, My Monster Secret is the entertaining and funny (if not necessarily laugh out loud hilarious) screwball comedy I expected it to be. Now, it’s kind of gone downhill ever since it introduced the incredibly unlikable and irritating Mikan in episode 3, but she’s not Inami-levels of single-handedly ruining an otherwise okay show.

Not So Hot


Prison School

vlcsnap-2015-07-18-21h54m26s543

I knew I would drop the shit out of Prison School since I watched episode 1 of it. It’s quite one of those things that you know beforehand if you’ll like it or not. Eventually, I found myself unable to take more of Prison School’s particular brand of absurd sex comedy against a backdrop of incredibly detestable characters. If nothing else, Tsutomu Motherfuckin’ Mizushima knows how to elevate the humor from the manga quite well and he’s quite good at doing his… thing.

Rokka: Braves of the Six Flowers

vlcsnap-2015-08-13-21h14m03s123

HELLO MY NAME IS ADLET “THE STRONGEST MAN IN THE WORLD” MAYER, AND I, AS THE STRONGEST MAN IN THE WORLD, WOULD LIKE YOU TO KNOW THAT I’M THE STRONGEST MAN IN THE WORLD AND THAT NOBODY ELSE IS THE STRONGEST MAN IN THE WORLD BECAUSE I, THE STRONGEST MAN IN THE WORLD, ADLET “THE STRONGEST MAN IN THE WORLD” MAYER, AM THE STRONGEST MAN IN THE MOTHERFUCKING WORLD.

Charlotte

vlcsnap-2015-08-13-21h13m15s179

The rather bland edge emperor that takes claim to the title of “Charlotte main character” is probably the least of the show’s worries. The comedy has absolutely failed at being funny, the plot has failed to be interesting at all and even the hilariously edgy main character has been relegated to be Stock Dull VN lead #82103. I have no idea what Charlotte wants to be, and the show itself certainly doesn’t.

WORSE THAN COSPRAYERS


Bikini Warriors

HorribleSubs-Bikini-Warriors-02-720p.mkv_20150715_034653.781

34 And when Logograph had called the people unto him with his readers also, he said unto them, Whosoever will come after me, let him deny himself, and take up his MAL, and follow me.

35 For whosoever will spend his time watching anime shall lose it; but whosoever shall lose his time for this increidbly crappy anime, the same shall waste it even further.

36 For what shall it profit a man, if he shall gain bouncing oppai, and lose his good taste in anime?

37 Or what shall a man give in exchange for his taste?

38 Whosoever therefore shall be ashamed of me and of my words in this otherwise good and interesting season; of him also shall the Son of Joestar be ashamed, when he cometh in the glory of David Production and their amazing basedness.

One thought on “July 2015 Roundup

  1. El Goopo 13/08/2015 / 11:30 pm

    >Now, it’s kind of gone downhill ever since it introduced the incredibly unlikable and irritating Mikan in episode 3

    Mikan was really only a problem in episode 3, the show has since rebounded with the last two episodes being rather excellent.

    Like

Comments are closed.